The quiet life

thThis blog has really lived a yin existence of late… But that’s just because great things have been in the making. One of these is the fact that I’m soon to finish my last stretch of yoga teacher studies. While reading up for the course, I stumbled upon these old words of wisdom:

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change.

Grant me the courage to change the things I can change.

And grant me the wisdom to know the difference.

I’ve heard this old prayer many times before. But when it comes to yoga practice, I’ve been too absorbed in my fast, productive and dynamic yang ways to truly appreciate it. In secret, I’ve thought there’s surely not much I can’t change if I need to. Having studied the art of yin, I’m slowly learning that some things can be left just as they are. Just observed and then accepted.

For a better explanation, I’ll quote the author of Yinsights, Bernie Clarke: Accepting the things we cannot change is the serenity of yin. The courage to change what needs to be changed is yang. Harmony or balance in life comes from having the wisdom to know the difference. This wisdom cannot be given to you or taught to you. It must be earned and learned through your own experience. 

Having both studied, practiced and taught yoga intensely for over a year now, I’m very happy about this latest revelation granted to me. My practice is evolving and taking on new dimensions, and so is my working life. New challenges lie ahead and I will sincerely try to apply to them the wisdom of far greater thinkers than myself.

Om Lokah Samasta Sukhino Bhavantu!

This entry was posted in Life, Mantras, Meditation, Teaching, Work, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

