Full-time job in the making

This week marks the start of my first autumn season as a full-time yoga instructor. Sure I’ve had classes and groups before, but never quite to this extent. Right now, in the eve of things, I’m starting to have doubts. Will I really manage and will my (not so young) body cope with all the strains? My husband put it to words when he said that “you’ll have to schedule your days like an athlete training for competitions: food, sleep, work, food, sleep, work…”. And I imagine he’s right and there won’t be much time for anything else.

Still, I’m not complaining. After all, I get to do what I’d be doing anyway – except that now I get to call it work, which seems like a luxury. I’m just hoping I’ll still be able to enjoy it as much, even though it becomes a job. My teacher Jani Jaatinen gave some good advice when saying that you can do any amount of teaching you want, as long as it doesn’t interfere with your own training and development. If it does, it means you have to cut down. So I’ll try to follow that advice and treat this season as an experiment. If it turns out that my schedule is too crammed, I’ll cut down for spring and give myself some slack.

Also, having a family, you’ve got that constant balancing act going on: what’s enough and what’s too much? Our kids are pretty self-sufficient by now, but it remains to be seen whether my being away some evenings and parts of weekends will seem like too much of a sacrifice. But that, of course, is an issue I share with many parents struggling to cope working shifts and odd hours. If they manage, perhaps we will too.

This entry was posted in Work, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Full-time job in the making

  1. Thank you for the kind words – Namaste!

  2. maria says:

    Praying that everything goes well and your energy remains constant and your focus true.
    m.

  3. Thank you so much! I think I’ll need all the well wishes I can get 🙂

  4. anjaliyogini says:

    Best Wishes for a wonderful teaching and learning cycle!!!! Namaste

Leave a Reply

