Hardcore work

This coming autumn season will see me working physically harder than I’ve ever done before, with both my own training and (what feels like a) huge amount of weekly lead classes. And not only yoga, since I was also asked to teach 3 weekly Pilates classes; which at first seemed a daunting thought. After all, it’s been a while since I’ve done regular Pilates training. All be it, I’ve done a lot of yoga lately, but still, would that be enough for me to master these demanding moves? Two of the classes I’ll be teaching are advanced level, which demands quite a lot from the instructor, since many people coming to class could have been training for years.

After a hard think, I decided to give it a go, partly because I have a hard time saying no to a challenge and partly because I wanted to test myself: after all this time devoting myself to yoga, could I still feel inspired by something else? Now, after a few weeks of training, I can easily answer that with a ringing yes. Coming back to Pilates was surprisingly easy and many of the movements I had previously found challenging now seemed light and easy. Mind you, it was still hard work and above all: so much fun! I had almost forgotten the wonderful acrobatics, the incredible feeling of strength and the lightness which Pilates gives. Besides, Pilates and yoga support each other brilliantly, since there are many similarities in the movements, but also different focal points and a different rhythm, which is challenging.

While still in training and with a few more weeks to go, I can’t wait for the season to start. It’s not going to be easy; staying healthy and energetic with this level of strain is going to take a lot of effort. Eating right and getting enough rest can be a challenge in the midst of family life, but for me it’s going to be crucial. If I don’t make it, I could very well break. But luckily I’m really not the worrying type, so I’ll just take it one day at a time and hope for the best. I’m just so grateful for being able to do this. It feels like getting a second chance at the kind of life I’ve secretly been dreaming about for years. As long as I can hold on to it, every working day will seem like a holiday.

This entry was posted in Health, Pilates, Sports, Work, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hardcore work

  1. Häftigt. Lycka till!

  2. sharptjl says:

    Hi, thanks for the early morning inspiration. I am not quite there with my routine yet, but am striving to complete my 200 hour yoga teacher training this year, one to deepen my own practice and second maybe along the way take up a class or two.

    • Thank you for visiting! I sort of stumbled on this pace by accident, since my own yoga teacher is re-locating and therefore left lots of classes, which he gracefully forwarded to his pupils. Not always sure I’ll be up to the task, but then again – we all have our darker days. And if he thinks I can do it, I probably can :-). Good luck with your studies and hope you get to try teaching – it really is the greatest inspiration for your own practice too!

Leave a Reply

