My daily bread

Due to popular demand I’m finally opening the door to our fridge – or table, since my “odd” eating habits apparently interest people :-).

On a more serious note: as a paleo/LCHF eater I often get the question: Well, what do you eat then? This usually comes after explaining that bread, pasta, grains, starch and sugar are out. So here goes: our food on this particular Sunday:

For breakfast I had sliced turkey, scrambled eggs (made with full fat cream and 2 eggs), some tomato and avocado (with a teaspoon or so of olive oil). A glass of grapefruit juice, which is one of my few carb indulgences. To top it off: some Omega-3 and vitamin D supplements.

Sometimes I’ll have bacon with my eggs instead, or smoked salmon, shrimp & mayo or whatever else we might have in the fridge. Of course the morning wouldn’t be complete without coffee (with full fat cream) —->

Today’s lunch was oven baked chicken with bacon, mushrooms, zucchini, onion, sweet red peppers in a creamy tomato & parmesan sauce. This with boiled and buttered broccoli and some green salad covered with a table-spoon of olive oil. I don’t necessarily drink with food, but if anything, I’ll have a glass of water.

In the afternoon after doing yoga, I had a snack consisting of another cup of creamy coffee and a bowl of Turkish yoghurt (10% fat) with raspberries and hazelnuts.

My late evening snack was a cup of rooibos tea with a splash of cream, some cashew nuts and almonds and a slice of cheddar.

Along the day I drank the odd glass of water, in addition to what’s mentioned here. The day’s training consisted of an hour’s walk with the dog at a slow pace and 1,5 hrs of asthanga yoga practice, which tends to be quite sweaty.

And what did the kids eat? Well, mostly the same stuff, except for the eggs in the morning, which they don’t like. So they had cheese and turkey sandwiches instead, with rye bread. Bacon is a great favourite with the kids, so if I make it, they’ll eat it. Lunch was the same as mine, but today I had also made a pasta & meat dish for them, so they had a bit of both. As a snack they’ll eat rye or crisp bread, cheese and/or some fruit, berries or the occasional low sugar variety of yoghurt.

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My daily bread

  1. Nina says:

    Mums! Ihania aterioita! 😀

  2. Haha, probably you and many other healthy eaters have been eating almost LCHF without knowing it – it’s not so weird after all :-). The heavy breakfast is the reason I only eat lunch or dinner – rarely both. Usually dinner actually, since with that breakfast you don’t get hungry too early.

  3. Riina says:

    Yummi! And wow, it seems I’ve been almost having a LCHF diet without knowing it. Especially now in this country where there are no good candies around. 😉 The only exception is the breakfast, I cannot possibly eat so heavy stuff early in the morning.

Leave a Reply

