Fun outing at Ikea

I experienced a new height of customer service brilliance yesterday whilst trying to purchase chairs at Ikea. The ones I wanted had been placed on the wrong shelf and I was informed (by an approx. 14 year old, gum-chewing staff member) that due to security requirements it was impossible to lift them to the right shelf, where I could have picked them up. So I was told to come back the next day, when the chairs would be loaded correctly.

Obedient as I am, I did return, only to find that the correct shelf had indeed been stocked – with the wrong chairs. Once again I duly stood in line to customer service, only to be asked to – guess what: come back the next day… By now I should of course have said: **** you and to hell with your chairs! However, since I’m the unfortunate owner of 2 chairs in desperate need for their pairs, I seem to be more or less married to this establishment. So, tomorrow will dawn and – probably – find me in line for some more frustration.

This rather irritating and slightly amusing story made me realize that I sincerely hope my own business never grows too big for flexibility. When did Ikea start to think more about their rules and regulations and less about serving their customers?

This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fun outing at Ikea

  1. Katti says:

    Sounds like any store in this (the World’s Best!!) country…

Leave a Reply

